DR. H. J. MEHTA MEMORIAL AWARD

RULES AND REGULATIONS

(Started in 1975)

(amended up to 30 November 2018)

- 1. The award shall be known as **Dr. H.J. Mehta Memorial Award.**
- 2. The award shall be made out of the yearly interest that shall accrue on the sum of Rs. 3,000/- (Rupees three thousand only) donated and later increased to Rs. 54,000=00 (Rupees Fifty four thousand only) for this purpose and deposited by the Treasurer of the Anatomical Society of India as a long term fixed deposit in one of the Nationalised Banks of India at the highest rate of interest available.
- 3. All the **General Rules and Regulations** for various awards which are not inconsistent with the specific rules of this award, will apply.
- 4. The award shall be given to a member of the Anatomical Society of India for the best research paper published in the Journal of Anatomical Society of India in one calendar year as judged by a panel of four judges appointed by the Executive Committee. The judges shall include besides the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal, three other eminent anatomists of the country (see also rule 10a of General Rules & Regulations). The members, as far as possible, shall not be of that department from which any published paper is considered for the award.
- 5. The Editor-in-Chief will send reprints of all the papers published in the Journal of Anatomical Society of India in that calendar year to each member of the panel who should send their judgment to the General Secretary of A.S.I. expeditiously so that the awards can be finalised and announced in time.
- 6. Research work done as a part of thesis, intended to be submitted or is in the process of being submitted or has already been submitted for any degree or done in a foreign laboratory can also be considered for the award.
- 7. There is **no age bar.**
- 8. The author should be a valid Ordinary / Life member of the Anatomical Society of India for at least 3 consecutive years.
- 9. The judges shall take into account the following **criteria to decide** the award for which marking will be done as per Performa attached:
 - (a) How far the work published is of original nature.
 - (b) How thoroughly the subject of research has been investigated.

- (c) Whether the paper was based on adequate material and whether material was all right from ethical point of view.
- (d) How far the research project is of practical importance.
- (e) How far the research project is of academic importance.
- (f) Literary merit of the paper and the quality of illustrations and diagrams etc.
- 10. The decision of the judges shall be final. The average of marks awarded by various judges should be 60% or more for the paper to be eligible for the award. Out of four judges, if the evaluation is not received from one judge (anatomists), the judgment will be declared on the basis of the marks given by the remaining three judges.
- 11. If there are more than one authors of the prize winning paper, the prize shall be given only to the first author of the paper. No certificate pertaining to this paper will be given to other authors, if any.
- 12. The prize winner shall be awarded a gold medal, a certificate and a cash award in the form of Multicity Cheque of Rs. 5,000=00 (Rupees five thousand only) [General Body Meeting 2010 Min. 10/10 (i:c)] from the Anatomical Society of India which will be presented to the winner at the time of the inaugural function of the next conference.

LIST OF AWARDEES

Year	Name of the Awardees	Place
1975 to 1975	NIL	
1977	Dr. C. Banerjee	Raipur
1978	Dr. K Pandher & Dr. VA Shinde	Raipur
1979	Dr. R Sheela	Trivandrum
1980	Dr. R Sheela	Trivandrum
1981	Dr. A Krishnamurti	Madras
1982	NIL	
1983	Dr. CL Pathak	Jodhpur
1984 to 1985	NIL	
1986	Dr. Ram Prakash	Delhi
1987	Dr. C Madhvi	Vellore
1988 to 1989	NIL	
1990	Dr. GP Pal	Surat
1991	Dr. S Chhabra	Rohtak
1992	Dr. Vinod Kumar	Kanpur
1993 to 1994	NIL	

1995	Dr. Amrendra	Hathras
1996 to 1997	NIL	
1998	Dr. Mandvi Singh	Varanasi
1999	NIL	
2000	Dr. VVG Patnaik	Patiala
2001	Dr. Gayatri Rath	New Delhi
2002	Dr. Mandvi Singh	Varanasi
2003	NIL	
2004	Dr. Sujata Kiran	Narketpally
2005	Dr. N Damayanti Devi	Imphal
2006	Dr. Indira V Ingole	Sewagram
2007	Dr. SS Joshi	Loni
2008	Dr. Pratheepa Sivasankari	Pondicherry
2009	Dr. S.D. Joshi	Loni
2010	Dr. Richa Niranjan	Haldwani
2011	Dr. Deep Rani Agarwal	Surat
2012	Dr. Vaishaly K. Bharambe	Pune
2013	Dr. Kusum Gandhi	Loni
2014	Dr. S. Sharma	New Delhi
2015	Dr. D.Krishna Chaitanya	Ghaziabad
2016	Dr. Ambath D. Momin	Shillong
2017	Dr. MohanaPriya	Vellore