DR. MATILAL PAN MEMORIAL AWARD

RULES AND REGULATIONS

(Started in 2000)

(amended up to 30 November 2018)

- 1. The award shall be known as **Dr. Matilal Pan Memorial award.**
- 2. The award shall be made out of the yearly interest that shall accrue on the sum of Rs. 25,000/(Rupees twenty five thousand only) donated and later increased to Rs. 58,917=00 (Rupees Fifty eight thousand nine hundred and seventeen only) for this purpose and deposited by the Treasurer of the Anatomical Society of India as a long term fixed deposit in one of the Nationalised Banks of India at the highest rate of interest available.
- 3. All the **General Rules and Regulations** for various awards which are not inconsistent with the specific rules of this award, will apply.
- 4. The award shall be given to a member of Anatomical Society of India for the best research paper on *Embryology* published in the Journal of Anatomical Society of India in one calendar year as judged by a panel of four judges appointed by the Executive Committee. The judges shall include besides the Editor-in-Chief of the journal, three other eminent anatomists of the country (see also rule 10a of General Rules & Regulations). The members as far as possible shall not be of that department from which any published paper is considered for the award.
- 5. The Editor-in-Chief will send reprints of all the papers published on the subject in the Journal of Anatomical Society of India in that calendar year to each member of the panel who should send their judgment to the General Secretary of A.S.I. expeditiously so that the award can be finalised and announced in time.
- 6. Research work done as a part of thesis, intended to be submitted or is in the process of being submitted or has already been submitted for any degree or done in a foreign laboratory can also be considered for the award.
- 7. There is no age bar.
- 8. The author should be a valid Ordinary / Life member of the Anatomical Society of India for at least 3 consecutive years
- 9. The judges shall take into account the following **criteria to decide** the award for which marking will be done as per Performa attached:
 - (a) How far the work published is of original nature.
 - (b) How thoroughly the subject of research has been investigated.
 - (c) Whether the paper was based on adequate material and whether material was all right from ethical point of view.
 - (d) How far the research project is of practical importance.
 - (e) How far the research project is of academic importance.
 - (f) Literary merit of the paper and the quality of illustrations and diagrams etc.
- 10. The decision of the judges shall be final. The average of marks awarded by various judges should be **60% or more** for the paper to be eligible for the award. Out of four judges, if the evaluation is not received from one judge (anatomists), the judgment will be declared on the basis of the marks given by the remaining three judges.
- 11. If there are more than one authors of the prize winning paper, the prize shall be given only to the first author of the paper. No certificate pertaining to this paper will be given to other authors, if any.

12. The prize winner shall be awarded a gold medal, a certificate and a cash award in the form of Multicity Cheque in the form of Multicity Cheque of Rs. 5,000=00 (Rupees five thousand only) [General Body Meeting of 2010 Min.10/10 (i:c)] from the Anatomical Society of India which will be presented to the winner at the time of the inaugural function of the next conference.

LIST OF AWARDEES

LIST OF AWARDEES		
Year	Name of the Awardees	Place
2000	Dr. C. Mohanti	Varanasi
2001	Dr. Gayatri Rath	New Delhi
2002	Dr. Th Naranbabu Singh	Imphal
2003	Dr. Shivakumar M.	Manipal
2004	Dr. Sujatha Kiran	Narketpally
2005	Dr. S. Majumdar	Kolkata
2006	Nil	
2007	Dr. S. Biswas	Sewagram
2008	NIL	
2009	Dr. B. Narasinga Rao	Nellimarla
2010	Dr. Sharada B. Menasinkal	Mysore
2011	Dr. S. Wahengbam	Imphal
2012	Dr. Adit Asghar	Barielly
2013	Dr. Mrinmoy Pal	Agartala
2014	Dr Muktyaz Hussain &	Ambedkar Nagar
	Dr Shilpi Garg	New Delhi
2015	Dr Swati Tiwari	New Delhi
2016	Dr Muktyaz Hussein	Badaun
2017	Dr Vishram Singh	Ghaziabad