DR. MAHDI HASAN MEMORIAL GOLD MEDAL

RULES AND REGULATIONS (Started in 1989)

(amended up to 30 November 2018)

- 1. The award shall be known as **Dr. Mahdi Hasan Gold Medal.**
- 2. The gold medal shall made out of the yearly interest that shall accrue on the sum of Rs. 5,000/- (Rupees five thousand only) donated and later increased to Rs. 80,000=00 (Rupees Eighty thousand only) for this purpose and deposited by the Treasurer of the Anatomical Society of India as a long term fixed deposit in one of the Nationalised Banks of India at the highest rate of interest available.
- 3. All the **General Rules and Regulations** for various awards which are not inconsistent with the specific rules of this award, will apply.
- 4. The award shall be given to a member of the Anatomical Society of India who presents the best paper in the field of Clinical Anatomy at the Annual National Conference of the Society, as judged by a panel of three judges appointed by the Executive Committee of the Anatomical Society of India, out of the anatomists attending the conference (see also rule 10a of General Rules & Regulations) and not belonging to the place of work of the author.
- 5. Research work done as a part of thesis, intended to be submitted or is in the process of being submitted or has already been submitted for any degree or done in a foreign laboratory can also be considered for award.
- 6. There is **no age bar**.
- 7. The papers should be **submitted to the General Secretary of the A.S.I**. in triplicate with charts, diagrams, photographs etc on or before **30thSeptember** of the year of the annual conference in which the candidate wishes to compete for the award.
- 8. Author should be a valid Ordinary / Life member of the Anatomical Society of India for at least 3 consecutive years.
- 9. Each of the three judges appointed by the Executive Committee shall go through a copy of the paper submitted and should also be present at the time of the presentation of the paper. They will take into account the following criteria to decide the award for which marking will be done as per proforma attached.
 - (a) How far the work done by the author / authors is of original nature.
 - (b) How thoroughly the subject of research has been investigated.
 - (c) Whether the paper was based on adequate material and whether the material was all right from ethical point of view.
 - (d) How far the research project is of practical importance.
 - (e) How far the research project is of academic importance.
 - (f) Subsequent discussion by the author.
 - (g) Quality of slides and method of presentation of the paper at the time of annual conference.
 - (h) Whether the speaker kept to the allotted time.
- 10. The decision of the judges will be final. The average of marks awarded by various judges should be 60% or more for the paper to be eligible for the award. The Judges will communicate the decision to the General Secretary in a sealed envelope at the

- earliest but well before the General Body meeting of ASI for declaration of the result in the GB meeting
- 11. In case of a paper submitted jointly by two or more persons, the **award shall be given only to the first author** of the paper. No certificate pertaining to this paper will be given to other authors, if any.
- 12. The award shall be in the form of a gold medal, a certificate and a cash award in the form of Multicity Cheque of Rs. 5,000=00 (Rupees five thousand only) [General Body Meeting of 2010 Min. 10/10 (i:b)] from the Anatomical Society of India, which will be presented to the winner at the time of the inaugural function of the next Annual National Conference. An awardee who has received this award once shall not be eligible to compete for this award in future.

LIST OF AWARDEES

Year	Name of Awardees	Place
1989	NIL	
1990	NIL	
1991	Dr. GP Pal	Surat
1992	Dr. Renu Dhindra	New Delhi
1993	Dr. Banerjee	Burdhwan
1994 TO 1997	NIL	
1998	Dr. DR Singh	Lucknow
1999	NIL	
2000	Dr. Varna Taranikanti	New Delhi
2003	NIL	
2004	Dr. Surbhi Wadhwa	New Delhi
2005 TO 2007	NIL	
2008	Dr. Pramila Padmani M	Nellimarla
2009 to 2013	NIL	
2014	Mr C. S. Ramesh Babu	Muzaffarnagar
2015	Nil	
2016	Dr. Shallu Garg	Chandigarh
2017	Nil	
2018	Dr. Jamwal	Rishikesh