DR. LIZA CHACKO MEMORIAL AWARD

RULES AND REGULATIONS

(Started in 1976/1992)

(amended up to 30 November 2018)

- 1. The Award shall be known as Dr. Liza Chacko Memorial Award.
- 2. The award shall be made out of the yearly interest that shall accrue on the sum of Rs.5,000/(Rupees five thousand only) donated and later increased to Rs. 80,000=00 (Rupees Eighty thousand only) for this purpose and deposited by the Treasurer of the Anatomical Society of India as a long term fixed deposit in one of the Nationalised Banks of India at the highest rate of interest available.
- 3. All the **General Rules and Regulations** for various awards which are not inconsistent with the specific rules of this award, will apply.
- 4. The award shall be given to a member for the best research paper on *Neuroanotomy* published in the Journal of Anatomical Society of India in one calendar year as judged by a panel of four judges appointed by the Executive Com-mittee. The judges shall include besides the Editor-in-Chief of the journal three other eminent anatomists of country (see also rule 10a of General Rules & Regulations). The members, as far as possible, shall not be of that department from which any published paper is considered for the award.
- 5. The Editor-in-Chief will send reprints of all the papers published on the subject in the Journal of Anatomical Society of India in that calendar year to each member of the panel who should send their judgment to the General Secretary of A.S.I. expeditiously so that the award can be finalised and announced in time.
- 6. Research work done as a part of thesis, intended to be submitted or is in the process of being submitted or has already been submitted for any degree or done in a foreign laboratory can also be considered for the award.
- 7. There is no age bar.
- **8.** The author should be a valid Ordinary / Life member of the Anatomical Society of India for **at least 3 consecutive years**.
- 9. The judges shall take into account the following **criteria to decide** the award for which marking will be done as per proforma attached:
 - (a) How far the work published is of original nature.
 - (b) How thoroughly the subject of research has been investigated.
 - (c) Whether the paper was based on adequate material and whether material was all right from ethical point of view.
 - (d) How far the research project is of practical importance.
 - (e) How far the research project is of academic importance.
 - (f) Literary merit of the paper and the quality of illustrations and diagrams etc.
- 10. The decision of the judges shall be final. The average of marks awarded by various judges should be 60% or more for the paper to be eligible for the award. Out of four judges, if the evaluation is not received from one judge (anatomists), the judgment will be declared on the basis of the marks given by the remaining three judges.
- 11. If there are more than one authors of the **prize** winning paper, the prize shall be given only to the **first author** of the paper. No certificate pertaining to this paper will be given to other authors, if any.

12. The prize winner shall be awarded a gold medal, a certificate and a cash award in the form of Multicity Cheque of Rs. 5,000=00 (Rupees five thousand only) [General Body Meeting of 2010 Min.10/10 (i:c)] from the Anatomical Society of India which will be presented to the winner at the time of the inaugural function of the next conference.

LIST OF AWARDEES

| Year | Name of the Department/ Institution | Place |
|--------------|-------------------------------------|-----------|
| 1981 | Department of Anatomy, | Baroda |
| | Medical College | |
| 1982 to 1983 | NIL | |
| 1984 | Department of Anatomy, | Surat |
| | Govt. Medical College | |
| 1985 to 1988 | NIL | |
| 1989 | Department of Anatomy, | Bangalore |
| | St. John's Medical College | |
| 1990 | NIL | |
| 1991 | Department of Anatomy, | New Delhi |
| | Lady Hardinge Medical College | |

Note: It was started as Trophy in 1976 for the best Department & then modified to Award in 1992.

| Year | Name of the Awardees | Place |
|--------------|----------------------|----------------|
| 1992 | Dr. AG Pillay | Kuala Lumpur |
| 1993 | NIL | |
| 1994 | Dr. PA Kumar | Annamalainagar |
| 1995 | NIL | |
| 1996 | Dr. Sahil Banka | Chandigarh |
| 1997 to 2000 | NIL | |
| 2001 | Dr. NK Mitra | Bilaspur |
| 2002 | Dr. SK Sangari | New Delhi |
| 2003 | NIL | |
| 2004 | Dr. Sujatha Kiran | Narketpally |
| 2005 to 2011 | NIL | |
| 2012 | NIL | |
| 2013 | Dr. Surbhi Wadhwa | New Delhi |
| 2014 | Dr S Sharma | New Delhi |
| 2015 | Dr. Vishram Singh | Ghaziabad |
| 2016 | Nil | |
| 2017 | Nil | |
| 2018 | Dr. Parul Kaushala | New Delhi |