DR. DHARAM NARAYAN MEMORIAL GOLD MEDAL

RULES AND REGULATIONS (Started in 1975)

(amended up to 30 November 2018)

- 1. The award shall be known as Dr. Dharam Narayan Memorial Gold Medal.
- 2. The gold medal shall be made out of the yearly interest that shall accrue on the sum of Rs. 5,000/- -(Rupees five thousand only) donated and later increased to Rs. 65,000=00 (Rupees Sixty thousand only) for this purpose and deposited by the Treasurer of the Anatomical Society of India as a long term fixed deposit in one of the Nationalised Banks of India, at the highest rate of interest available.
- 3. All the **General Rules and Regulations** for various awards which are not inconsistent with the specific rules of this award, will apply.
- 4. The award shall be given to a member of the Anatomical Society of India who is *less than 40 years* of age on the first day of the annual conference and *presents* the best paper at the annual conference of the Society as judged by a panel of three judges appointed by the Executive Committee of the Anatomical Society, out of the anatomists attending the conference (see also rule 10a of General Rules & Regulations) and not belonging to the place of work of the author.
- 5. Research work done as a part of thesis, intended to be submitted or is in the process of being submitted or has already been submitted for any degree or done in a foreign laboratory or with the co-authorship of another person above the age of 40 years can also be considered for the award.
- 6. The **proof of age** of the author (or authors, in case of joint work) will be the matriculation or higher secondary school certificate or a certificate issued by the Principal / Dean of the college as per the record in his office.
- 7. The papers should be **submitted to the General Secretary of the A.S.I.** in triplicate with charts, diagrams, photographs etc., along with the attested copy of the proof of age of the author on or before **30th September** of the year of the annual conference in which the candidate wishes to compete for the award.
- 8. Author should be a valid Ordinary / Life member of the Anatomical Society of India for at least 3 consecutive years.
- 9. Each one of the three judges appointed by the Executive Committee shall go through a copy of the paper submitted and will also be present at the time of the presentation of the paper. They will take into account the following criteria to decide the award for which marking will be done as per proforma attached:
 - (a) How far the work done by the author/ authors is of original nature.
 - (b) How thoroughly the subject of research has been investigated.
 - (c) Whether the paper was based on adequate material and whether the material was all right from ethical point of view.
 - (d) How far the research project is of practical value.
 - (e) How far the research project is of academic importance.
 - (f) Subsequent discussion by the author.

- (g) Quality of slides and method of presentation of the paper at the time of annual conference.
- (h) Whether the speaker kept to the allotted time.
- 10. The decision of the judges will be final. The average of marks awarded by various judges should be 60% or more for the paper to be eligible for the award. The Judges will communicate the decision to the General Secretary in a sealed envelope at the earliest but well before the General Body meeting of ASI for declaration of the result in the GB meeting
- 11. In case of a paper submitted jointly by two or more persons, the **award** shall be given to the **first author** of the paper. No certificate pertaining to this paper will be given to other authors, if any.
- 12. The winner shall be awarded a gold medal, a certificate and a cash award in the form of Multicity Cheque of Rs. 5,000=00 (Rupees five thousand only) [General Body Meeting of 2010 Min.10/10 (i:b)] from the Anatomical Society of India which will be presented to the winner at the time of inaugural function of the next annual conference.

LIST OF AWARDEES

| Year | Name of Awardees | Place |
|--------------|--------------------|-----------|
| 1975 | Dr. Gajendra Singh | Varanasi |
| 1976 | Dr. SS Navagiri & | Nagpur |
| | Dr. Mahdi Hasan | Aligarh |
| 1977 | Dr. S Kabra | Ajmer |
| 1978 | NIL | |
| 1979 | Dr. DR Singh | Lucknow |
| 1980 to 1981 | NIL | |
| 1982 | Dr. Balakrishna | Bangalore |
| 1983 | NIL | |
| 1984 | Mr. Muthusamy | Madras |
| 1985 | NIL | |
| 1986 | Dr. GP Pal & | Surat |
| | Dr. Tlat A Rizvi | New Delhi |
| 1987 | NIL | |
| 1988 | Dr. BK Guha | Jabalpur |
| 1989 | Dr. JH Sheriff | Madras |
| 1990 to 1999 | NIL | |
| 2000 | Dr. Sabita Misra | New Delhi |
| 2001 to2004 | NIL | |

| 2005 | Dr. Renu Dhingra | New Delhi |
|--------------|-----------------------|-----------|
| 2006 | NIL | |
| 2007 | Dr. Richa Tripathi | New Delhi |
| 2008 | NIL | |
| 2009 | Dr. S. Kataria | New Delhi |
| 2010 to 2012 | NIL | |
| 2013 | Dr. Parul Kaushal | New Delhi |
| 2014 | Ms Poonam S. Jawanjal | New Delhi |
| 2015 | Nil | |
| 2016 | Nil | |
| 2017 | Dr. Sankat Mochan | New Delhi |
| 2018 | Nil | |