DR. SHAMER SINGH MEMORIAL ORATION

RULES AND REGULATIONS

(Started in 1996)

(amended up to 30 November 2018)

- 1. The oration will be known as **Dr. Shamer Singh Memorial Oration Award** and will be conducted by the Anatomical Society of India. It will be delivered immediately after the inaugural function of the annual conference of ASI
- 2. The oration will be held once every two years (or every year if finances permit).
- Rs. 40,000/- (Rs. Forty thousand only) donated by Dr. Gurpreet Singh, son of Late Dr. Shamer 'Singh, to the Anatomical Society of India and later increased to Rs. 94,000/-(Rupees Ninety four thousand only) and invested by the society according to its rules and regulations. The interest thus accrued will be used to finance the oration.
- 4. The person delivering the oration will be any **eminent anatomist** from India or abroad, who is or had been involved in both teaching and research.
- 5. Selection of the person delivering the oration will be done by a **selection committee** formed by the ASI for the purpose of running this oration. One member of the selection committee shall be from the family of late Dr. Shamer Singh (At present Prof. Inderjit Dewan has been nominated as a representative of the family)
- 6. The **topic of Oration** should be within the ambit of the "Schedule of Subjects" as given in the appendix of rules and regulations of ASI.
- 7. The person delivering the oration will be given:
 - (a) A sum of **Rs. 10,000/-** (Rupees Ten thousand only) as a token of appreciation in the form of Multicity Cheque [General Body Meeting of 2010 Min. 10/10 (i:a)].
 - (b) A certificate, citation certificate [vide min.12/06(d)] and a silver plaque.
 - (c) He / She will be the guest of the conference and shall not be charged any registration fee and local hospitality by the organising secretary. However, it will be mandatory for the orator to register himself / herself in the Conference.

N.B:

- 1. All decisions regarding selection, scroll/and plaque will be made by the committee formed to run the oration.
- 2. The family members of late Dr. Shamer Singh to be informed of the decision and may be invited for the oration.
- 3. If the society fails to conduct the oration for two consecutive turns (i. e. four years) the money is to be refunded back to the family.

List of Awardees

S.No.	Name of Orator	Conference	Place	Year
1.	Dr. Indarjeet Diwan	44th NATCON	Calcutta	Dec. 1996
2.	Dr. A Krishnamurthi	46th NATCON	Karad	Dec. 1998
3.	Dr. Mahdi Hasan	48th NATCON	Dehradun	Feb. 2001
4.	Dr. Shashi Wadhwa	50th NATCON	Gulbarga	Dec. 2002
5.	Dr. G.P. Pal	52nd NATCON	Hyderabad	Dec. 2004
6.	Dr. Gajendra Singh	54th NATCON	Kochi	Dec. 2006
7.	Dr. D.R. Singh	56th NATCON	Varanasi	Dec. 2008
8.	Dr. N.K. Mehra	58th NATCON	Pimpri (Pune)	Dec. 2010
9.	Dr. S.D. Joshi	60th NATCON	Cuttack	Dec. 2012
10.	Dr. S. Melani Rajendran	62nd NATCON	Imphal	Nov. 2014
11.	Dr. Mandavi Singh	64th NATCON	Jodhpur	Nov. 2016
12	Dr. V. Balasubramanyam	66th NATCON	Rishikesh	Nov 2018
13	Dr. Ashok Sahai	69 th NATCON	Gadag	Dec.2022
14	Dr. HashMukh Buch	71 st NATCON	Amritsar	Nov.2024